#SmallBizSaturdays: The Beginning

I would like to begin this post by expressing that this has to be by far the most meaningful and important one. So if I touch at least one person’s heart than I’ve already won.

If you know me as well as my story of how I ended up in Brooklyn, then you also know that I grew up being a shy girl who was born and raised in New Haven, CT. Kevin, my boyfriend began working at a start-up chain restaurant called Naked Pizza where he enjoyed where he worked because of the people he worked with. Kevin invited me out to a poetry event that one of his co-workers, Shadel hosted once a month. I’ll admit, when I first started attending it was not in my comfort zone, for I still held characteristics of being that shy girl from CT. Fast forwarding to a year later, Street Poets NYC evolved. Evolved to where they’ve gotten so large that to close out the 2012 year, last night was the host of their final event in the home Den, before migrating to a larger one.

In appreciation of #SmallBizSaturdays I would like to start it off by not only promoting, but to salute Street Poets NYC. Salute them for bringing together a group of young artistic poets who share a common passion and love for spilling it out through a pen. Salute them for as President Ella said to me last night “I can be comfortable” – – meaning it truly is a zero judgment zone. The Den is place for one to be who they are, not who society expects them to be. Salute them for helping to construct dreams and giving individuals that pushed to achieve them. Salute them for supporting each other, and forming a family through the work of art.

One thing that I adore about attending Thee Open Mic is you meet down-to-earth people that you may not come across on a daily basis. Networking. Living in New York, I’ve learned that networking is key element in order survive in this jungle. Face it; it’s all in who you know. If you are unable to walk up to a person for the first time and introduce yourself then right there, I’m sorry to say but you’ve failed. Last night I met a guy who truth be told, he’s your “Average White Guy”. Until he opens his mouth, you would never know that he’s an aspiring rapper and extreme hip-hop head. From the brief conversation that we had at the end of the evening, I learned that someone in his life once told him that he couldn’t do it. I honestly couldn’t believe that. It sickens me more so because I am a strong believer of whatever it is you enjoy doing, there is no reason why you can’t do it. Through this man’s eyes, I not only see desire for what he loves but he has a good heart. Not only that, he believes in himself as well as his dream. For someone to make their way from New Jersey to Brooklyn, and stand up in front of a group of people he just met for the first time, if that’s not heart then I don’t know what is.

December 14th - Thee Open Mic

My love for helping people to get where they aspire to be has evolved. I’m a people analyzer. I’m a motivator to push people to do what “they” want to do, because they may not have met someone willing to give them that challenge. Finding your passion is golden when exploring your future. I’m a strong believer in opening the minds of the dreamers, believers and ones who were told they couldn’t do it. At Street Poets NYC, everyone supports everyone. And I love it. Everyone is hungry for success and willing to extend hands to others so no one being is left behind. And I love it. I had a conversation with a high-school friend of mine this afternoon and he said to me “Nothing will come without work.” These poets, without a doubt, put in work. And I love it.

With the devastating Sandy Hook Elementary tragedy that occurred back in my state, I was torn all morning to a point where I couldn’t even be in my apartment; it hit me so close to home. I was grateful enough to be in a space where negativity is checked at the door. Being in the vicinity The Den brings you into a happier state. Where you demonstrate your own worth based on what you put fourth. As quoted by Mark Twain, The two most important days in your life are the day you are born and the day you find out why. Thank you Street Poets NYC for helping me to find out why. Deeply from the bottom of my heart, I support you all and what you’ve generated.

Beautiful Struggles ProductionPhotographer Renee Best
Check out her work at beautifulstruggleproductions.com and follow on Twitter @BeautifulSProd

If you are reading this blog right now, I invite you to connect with Street Poets NYC online and support them as well.

Like on Facebook: The Street Poets NYC

Follow on Twitter: @StreetPoetsNYC

Or check out the website: www.StreetPoetsNYC.com

For further details in regards to their vision that has come to life, you may contact

Chief Executive Officer, HRSH REYALITTEE HRSHREYALITEE@STREETPOETSNYC.COM

Chief Operating Officer EKHO EKHO@STREETPOETSNYC.COM

In addition, if you are a small-business owners from any industry please feel free to find out detailed information on the #SmallBizSaturday page if you would like your business to be showcased. Continue to support small-businesses for they’re the hardest working CEOs out there.

One thought on “#SmallBizSaturdays: The Beginning

Leave a comment